Food

:: NYC Eats :: Vitae

One of my favourite restaurants in NYC is a midtown gem just off Fifth Ave on 46th St. Vitae serves a seasonal menu of what I would consider a continental European / modern American cuisine. It is an all occasions restaurant; excellent for date nights, great for visiting family and friends. Service is attentive but not overly fussy and food is delish!

Vitae also has one of the best value for money tasting menu. It is a four course sampler of the restaurant’s best offering for USD 75. What’s exceptional about the tasting menu is that it is extremely flexible. So for someone like me who doesn’t eat foie gras, lamb, salmon or anything raw (think sashimi or steak tartare), the chef customizes the menu to suit my palate.

I have a funny (in retrospect) story about Vitae. Our first visit was with Mr. P’s ex-boss my boss’ boss when we first got o NYC. On our way there, I lost my Balenciaga envelop clutch along with my card holder. I eventually got it back thanks to the City’s 311 service from a synagogue on the UWS.  Anyhoodle, Mr. P and I stopped off for date night last Thursday.
We didn’t do the tasting menu partly because I was dealing with a stress-induce gastric issue. I even skipped dessert!

Here’s a rundown of what we ordered. For starters Mr. P (of course) went for the steak tartare finished with quail’s egg and Parmesan chips. I had the burrata with baby heirloom tomatoes on pesto dressing and garlic chips. If I had a small criticism it would be the tomatoes could have been sweeter. The burrata was 👍🏻 so is the steak tartare according to Mr. P.

Burrata
Steak tartare

For our mains, I chose the the diver scallops with a Thai curry foam and tricolor cauliflower. Mr. P had a chestnut agnolotti with spinach and Parmesan cheese topped with crunchy prosciutto bits.

The scallops were perfectly cooked and so succulent. I wish the foam was a little thicker so it wasn’t as watery. Mr. P’s pasta was amazing. Second only to the brown butter and sage pasta I had at Il Violino.

 

Scallops with Thai Curry Foam

Chestnut Agnolotti

The meal ended with a palate cleanser – almond cookie and a ginger and cherry drink. To end off the evening and one of the best little touches that Vitae does is sending guests home with a soft chewy chocolate chip cookie wrapped up. I love the whole sweet treat to go.

Till next time!

 

 

Vitae 

4 East 46th Street

New York City 10017

212.682.3562

Leave a Reply

