The Irmingers

:: Life :: A day in the life of…

… a mother of two on maternity leave.

Obviously only when all the stars are aligned and it all goes well.

6 a.m. Time to get up, hopefully both kids are still asleep, get the kettle on, prep breakfast for C and a snack for preschool

6.30 a.m. Wake the husband. Ava is usually wakes at this time, I pull her out of the crib, change her nappy and leave her on the couch to kick about. C wakes soon after and whines for me (200% mummy’s girl). I give her a cuddle, she asks for Ava and I bring her out to the couch.

7.15 a.m. Mr. P leaves for work while I nag at C to finish her breakfast, nurse (trying to bottle her lately) Ava and feed myself.

8 a.m. Drive C to school with Ava in tow.

8.30 a.m. Back home with A. She naps on the couch for 1-1.5 hours if I manage to transfer her successfully without waking her from the car seat to home to couch. Else I have to nurse / rock her back to sleep. It’s a bad habit I know but someone else can deal with it when she starts daycare. I spend this time pumping milk, washing all the bottles and feeding myself if I hadn’t managed to do so before school.

10 a.m. Ava is awake, I let her stretch and kick on the play mat before feeding her again around 10.30 a.m.. I am usually famished by this time so I get my lunch ready; breastfeeding is calorie consuming work!  Ava gets a wipe down. Sometimes I take her out to run some errands in the neighbourhood and hope she doesn’t fall asleep in the pram or carrier.

Noon Nap time. I take this time to feed myself, catch up on chores or blog once she goes down. I also have to pump again if I didn’t nurse her and prepare stuff for Clover’s dinner.

2 or 2.30 p.m. Ava wakes up, she does tummy time, more kicking about, more listening to my singing and story telling. I feed her (AGAIN) and wash her if we miss the earlier wipe down.

3.30 or 4 p.m. School pick up. Depending on days, Clover has her after school activities, so I will usually pick her up after and hope Ava takes a catnap on route.

4.30 p.m. I get dinner ready while Ava is either napping or gets entertained by Clover. Clover also works on colouring, tracing or writing.

5.30 p.m. I nag at Clover to eat her dinner while I nurse Ava and change her into her PJs after.

6.30 p.m. – 8 p.m. Clover gets some TV time followed by Dada time when Mr. P gets home from work. Ava goes down anytime between 6.30 to 7.30 p.m. She has this habit of waking up after the first put down in her crib. I usually nurse her or Mr. P cuddles her and puts her down again.

8 – 9 p.m. I spend some mummy time with C and then it’s bedtime for Clover and I.

9  p.m. to 6 a.m. Mr. P chills out,  feeds Ava if she wakes up before 1 a.m and it’s lights out for him. I will wake to feed Ava and pump if she wakes up for milk after 1 a.m.

Rinse and repeat!!

Leave a Reply

