Bub Talk

:: Motherhood :: Double Jeopardy

We didn’t think it was possible to have a difficult spirited firstborn and another baby in a similar mold. Guess what? We are wrong!

20141005-160407.jpg
God made me cute so my parents will put up with me

I’m not quite sure where we went wrong. Genetics? Diet? 胎教; the fact that with both babies I was “blessed” with higher profile and increased responsibilities and worked right up to the day I popped? I didn’t have a restful, chilled pregnancy which resulted in my Type A children?

Can I have a different baby please?

Both my kids are NON-sleepers! How is that possible? Where have I gone wrong?

C never hardly slept; she was more interested in checking out her surrounding and listening to my soliloquies talking to mama. A isn’t much better. She loves sleeping only in a pair of human arms and wakes the moment her head touches anything non-living. What’s with that?

A couple of weeks ago we went apple picking and was on our way home when A woke up hungry. Her cries of hunger sounded more like mewing which prompted Mr. P to comment, “You have to admit, she’s a lot quieter than C was.” Well he completely jinxed himself; for most of last week, she really showed him her operatic tendencies. Once so loud and incessant that he had to manduca her around the block in the middle of the night, just as he had done with C 3.5 years ago!

The sisters won’t take a soother and now at 5 weeks and 2 days we are battling bottle rejection with A. She had taken the bottle like a champ since DAY ONE! Apparently this is fairly common as babies become self-aware in the 2nd month. But how is it that it’s only happening to my kids?!? 😭😭😭

C started rejecting the bottle around this time and never took a bottle, transitioning straight to a straw cup from a super young age so my helper could feed her once a day when I’m out. We ended up nursing for 18 months.

Unfortunately we do not have the luxury of me being a SAHM this time so Mr. P and my mum are having to deal with the feeding in the day until this get sorted. T-12 days till my mum leaves, I hope it works. It has to!!

P.S. One good thing with the bottle battle is that I have to stay out of sight, which means I get to take a nice siesta.

Leave a Reply

