Editorial

:: BigApple :: NYC Confessions

View of NYC from Hoboken

Have I ever mentioned how much I love New York City?

(Okay, repeatedly.)

Seven months in, I am starting to think this is more than just an infatuation. Taxes aside, I adore this city; life is fab with the long-suffering ever-wonderful Mr. P and the oh-so-delightful C. This is a far cry from how I felt about Hong Kong; I never truly belonged nor felt at home. I am not sure if I ever want to live there again.

So the Big Apple… Despite what everyone feel / say about Americans *insert unflattering adjectives*, I have never been offered so many helping hands in the last 7 months compared to 7 years in HK (shame on you peeps in HK).

We are pretty much settled: After over 10 years in the Equity, FX and Currency businesses, Mr. P is slowly but surely getting a hang of Fixed Income. Once again, he has proved himself to be a superstar. I am enjoying work. I know it sounds silly; I am not in a creative field nor am I watching the markets and making big bucks but I truly relish being in a professional environment and expanding my knowledge. Most importantly, C is thriving. She loves her school and she talks about her teachers and classmates all the time.

It remains to be seen but I think (so far) this move has been great for us.

10 thoughts on “:: BigApple :: NYC Confessions

  1. This is really nice. I may not comment a lot but I read all your posts and also living the NYC dream vicariously through you! I am so happy everything is working out great!

  2. I’m happy for you that you are happy! Happiness rocks! And write more often! and CONFIRM + CHOP (sorry, so singaporean way of saying) that the americans are a lot friendier and helpful than the HKers.

  3. I concur with eling’s sentiment!
    Miss seeing C’s happy photos – even if it’s a random pic to end off your post 🙂

    As you can probably tell from the comments below, your positive vibes rawk

Leave a Reply

